in due course

Jidaigeki madness

Jideigeki Kitty!!

Today I must concentrate on Contemporary Japanese Cinema, this is one of the modules I have to do for my course and on Thursday we have an exam on the subject! 神経!

The exam will mostly be on names and dates of films, and although it is called CONTEMPORARY Japanese Cinema, most of the films are on the Jidaigeki 時代劇 which is basically their equivalent of a Costume Drama (Pride and Prejudice etc) but based in Edo Japan and more than likely to contain some sort of awesome Samurai fight… rather than boring English acting. Though it is important to remember that they are contemporary… I just don’t consider historical pieces to be contemporary, no matter when the film was made (although Pirates of the Caribbean is a costume drama… mmm Johnny Depp).

But I am just complaining for no reason, admittedly I enjoy complaining, almost as much as I enjoy doing nothing on my days off rather than STUPID REVISION! I wish I could remember things after the first time of reading them, alas, I am no Albert Einstein.

Does anybody have any favourite Japanese films? I would be really interested in watching some other than the generic titles that we’ve all seen (Battle Royale, Casshern etc). Suggestions are very welcome! Also, are there any Japanese Christmas films? I know Japanese people aren’t Christian, but from what I know quite a lot of people celebrate Christmas in Japan. I’m really in the mood for Christmas films at the moment, but I think I’ve exhausted Home Alone more than my boyfriend would like! Another thing I’m interested in is a good comedy, my boyfriend doesn’t really enjoy watching Japanese films but I think I can change his mind with some sort of awesome comedy.

お読みいただき、ありがとうございました

じゃまたね

6 responses

  1. Mochi

    Hello.

    I recommend you to watch following DVDs.
    Because, I think that these movies depict a lot of things about Japan( Japanese character, a sense of value, and a sense of beauty).

    (1)SWING GIRLS (2004) Shinobu Yaguchi
    (2)Waterboys (2001) Shinobu Yaguchi
    (3)Dreams (1990) Akira Kurosawa

    (1)スウィングガールズ [DVD]
    (2)ウォーターボーイズ [DVD]
    (3)夢 [DVD] 

    I have not ever seen Japanese Xmas movies.
    But, the following movies seem to be popular in Japan.

    (1)戦場のクリスマス
    (2)君は僕をスキになる

    Sorry, my English is poor.

    December 7, 2011 at 11:41 am

    • ありがとう!I have been told to watch Swing Girls and Waterboys by a few people now, they must be really goo films! Akira Kurosawa大好きです!夢を見た。
      英語がとても良いです!

      December 8, 2011 at 12:31 pm

  2. こんにちわ~ 昔 Harefield33 BanburyRoad Oxford に住んでました
    わたしが、ブログするなら osakatooxford.com ですかね^^;

    My favorite Japanese Jidaigeki is (though it’s not a Cinema but a Soap Opera)
    鬼平犯科帳 ”Onihei haka cho” is a series of thieves stories whom were captured by police at that time. They are hired by FBI like people called 火盗改 ”katou-aratame” to work as an secret agent.

    でわ また^^

     

    December 7, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    • 驚くべき!いつがそこに住んでしたか。ソープが面白いね,ウンロードできるのだろうか

      Thank you 🙂

      December 8, 2011 at 12:38 pm

  3. hideaki

    邦画はたるい。
    時代劇はいろんなジャンルがある、テレビ番組だけど、まあまあ。
    日本のコメディーは、なんか仲間内でやって笑っているような感じ、笑えない。
    日本のドラマ番組、あまり見たことない。
    君のボーイフレンドの感覚、分かるな、むしろ正常だ。

    December 8, 2011 at 5:49 am

Leave a Reply

