in due course

Me talking about my awful Japanese experience today

LOVED Swing Girls! Amazing film, please watch it if you haven’t already! Tonight: Waterboys (I hear they’re kind of a pair!)

A lovely Japanese man came into my shop today (I say ‘my’ shop… but I actually only work there as some sort of sponsored slave!) I told him I was learning Japanese and he seemed eager to hear some of my awful skills so I basically just repeated the lamest introduction of myself that I did last year for my first ever assignment, as follows (written in romaji for those who can’t read kana)

Hajimemashite, O-namae wa Mona desu. Nihongo no gakusei desu. Totemo muzukashii demo tanoshii desu. Douzo yoroshiku.

はじめまして。お名前はモナです。日本語の学生です。とても難しいでも楽しいです。どうぞよろしく。

HOW LAME IS THAT! I’ve learnt so much more advanced Japanese and that’s all I came up with? What a joke. Needless to say he just laughed at me… and then said something about the weather (sumui desune!)  This was my first ever experience talking to a Japanese native (that wasn’t my teacher) outside of education and it went AWFUL!

I really want to Skype with my Japanese pen-pals but the time difference makes that a bit of a problem! DAMN YOU WORLD!

So, tomorrow I am going to write another entry in Japanese, a much longer one because I need to be a bit harder on myself, I suck! Once again, corrections welcome🙂

じゃまたね

4 responses

  1. How do you go about getting a japanese pen pal? just keep practicing, i read about this guy, Danny Choo (he has a great blog) and he learned Japanese on his own by creting some sort of virtual Japan…its very ineresting.

    December 15, 2011 at 1:56 am

    • There are quite a few websites for foreigners to meet and exchange language, http://www.japan-guide.com/penfriend/ is what I’ve been using, but there are plenty more. Danny Choo is brilliant, I love his blog, one day mine will be that awesome🙂

      December 15, 2011 at 3:42 pm

  2. hideaki

    尊敬語、謙譲語の使い方は日本人でも非常に難しい。多分日本語を学ぶ上で一番難しくて苦労するのはこのことだろう。日本人でもちゃんとした敬語ができないのだから、このことはあまり深く考えない方が良い。「は」と「が」の使い方を深く考えると余計分からなくなるのと同じ。
    上の日本語で一つ日本人としておかしく感じるのは、「お」名前と自分の名前の時に使っていることである。丁寧語はこれは普段の日常生活でよく使う言葉だから、そしてわりと簡単だからちゃんと覚えたほうが良いかもしれない。
    一般的に物事の前に「お」を付けると丁寧な言葉になるが、最近では普通男はあまり「お」をつけて話さないし、女性でも無理して「お」をつけて話す必要はない。

    it is very difficult ,even if for japanese, how to use respect words ,humble words. perhaps these are the most difficult point to learn japanese.because japanese cannot use proper Honorific ourselves, you dont have to think it so much.it is the same when thinking the difference between はand が,it becomes too complicated.
    above japanese there is one thing i feel funny that is,as [watashino]
    o-namae wa -this case you are saying your matter and you use 「お」on yourself.we use polite words very often in the daily life and it is rather easy .
    generally it becomes polite word attaching 「お」at the front word of things but nowadays we men dont say 「お」things and women dont have to say that too.

    December 16, 2011 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

