in due course

Kanji Death

Gotta love Instagram

Yes, revising has turned into taking photos of my own hand in an arty fashion. I HATE KANJI. Seriously, everything about learning Japanese would be made so much easier if Japan had just thought of its own writing system. BUT NOOOOO! Damn my life.

So let’s forget about that for a while and concentrate on how my last exam went: BRILLIANTLY. Working/sleeping/living in the library finally paid off. I mean sure, I didn’t know  everything, but I managed to remember quite a lot, even got a bit cocky and left early. I am actually quite looking forward to results day now (well, let’s not get ahead of ourselves!)

So the next few days will be revolving around my Kanji exam on Friday which I’m not feeling very confident about but then at least it will all be over after that. Schwing!

6 responses

  1. Good luck with your exams!

    May 15, 2012 at 12:10 am

  2. Jon

    I try to brainwash myself into liking kanji, as it makes them less painful to study. I guess it’s easier for me to do that though, as I’m learning Japanese for fun in my spare time, and have zero pressure and no exams to worry about.

    There’s no getting around the fact that studying 2000+ characters is a gigantic pain in the arse, but I try to remind myself what it is about them that I like. Such as, they look so cool! It’s easy to forget this when you’re working with them all the time and they become a familiar part of your life, but no script in the world looks as cool as Chinese characters!

    Also, I think Japanese seems a lot more logical when you understand the kanji behind the words. Lately, I’ve been finding it easier to remember vocab that is made up of kanji, tather than words spelt only with kana.

    Anyways, that’s a roundabout way of saying chin up! Don’t let the kanji beat you down!

    Good to hear the hard work paid off and you’re feeling positive about the exams

    May 15, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    • It’s cool that you enjoy it so much, it helps so much to learn something you find genuinly interesting. How is your self study going? Thanks for the support 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 9:49 am

      • Jon

        I’m happy with how I’m doing so far. Motivation and finding time isn’t a problem, because Ive always filled my spare time with studying and learning things – I hate the idea of spending all day at work and then wasting the evenings in front of the tellybox, watching X Factor!

        The biggest problem was working out how to go about learning a language, without the aid of a teacher to guide me. My Japanese project started off as a way to use commuting time positively – I spend about an hour and a half in my car everyday. I was just listening to a couple of lessons each day, but I soon figured it would take a lot more effort than that to get anywhere with the language.

        I read a bit about language acquisition and looked at a lot of Japanese learning resources, and came up with a plan. I like plans and lists!

        I got a lot of good ideas from reading the antimoon site http://www.antimoon.com/ . The site is written some Polish guys who learnt English, and most of their ideas are based on the work of the linguist, Stephen Krashen. Krashen studied how young children acquire their native language, so there’s a strong emphasis on getting lots and lots of input from your target language. I don’t buy into all the ideas on antimoon, for example, they don’t seem to think learning grammar is very important, and they think that speaking is a natural and inevitable result of input.

        But I do want to get into learning from native sources as soon as possible, and spend most of my learning time doing pleasurable activities such as watching films and dramas, reading books, manga, news stories etc.

        So right now, I’m about halfway through a gigantic textbook (An Introduction to Modern Japanese by Richard Bowring and Haruko Uryu Laurie). The authors claim that their students are able to read newspaper articles with the aid of a dictionary after they finish the course, so I’m hoping it’ll be enough to break into native materials, and progress from there.

        Are you happy with the course you’re on? It’s good that you’re also learning about Japanese culture and history alongside the language.

        May 17, 2012 at 8:23 pm

  3. Andrew H

    I hope your planning something big for friday!!

    May 16, 2012 at 11:40 am

Leave a Reply

